When Larry King asks, I answer.

Here’s a comment I posted on Larry King’s blog on November 25 in response to the question: “What’s your favorite ‘wild’ animal?” His guest that night was zookeeper extraordinaire Jack Hanna. Here’s what I had to say:

November 25th, 2009 5:00pm ET

Hi Larry,

For me it’s a two-way tie between dolphins and grizzly bears. Out of any ‘wild’ animals I have ever seen up close, these two have made the biggest impression.

Here are my thoughts on the above…

I had the privilege of observing two grizzlies up close in their fenced-off sanctuary on Grouse Mountain in Vancouver, BC. I remember walking up to the fence and being confronted by this bear suddenly staring me down, as if doing a threat assessment. He quickly decided I was harmless and went back to burrowing his head into the snow. This instance of being ‘read’ by such a magnificent creature was a brief but awesome moment that cannot be described or forgotten.

A year-and-a-half later, my wife and I had our picture taken with a dolphin at the Mirage in Las Vegas. Again, it was all too short, but it allowed us a glimpse of a creature that exhibited intelligence, personality and a sense of humor.

James
Ottawa, Canada

Leave a Reply

