In dreams the war is closer to home

Due to a lack of interest amongst grown men, the U.S. government has resorted to drafting Canadian children for its war effort in Iraq. A seven-year-old version of my nephew stands in front of me, clad in a formal military uniform, fitted perfectly for his small frame. In a matter of minutes he’ll board a plane for the Middle East. Tears are streaming down my cheeks as I beg him not to go. I tell him that it is wrong to send children into the line of fire, and that I’m worried this will be the last time I see him. He looks at me with big, innocent eyes and says “Don’t worry, Uncle Jimmy. I’ll be careful.

©2007 by James Deagle. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

